top of page

Board of Directors


Ronald C. Shidemantle BY173

President/Chairman of the Board

Brother Shidemantle is a past Beta Upsilon Chapter President, and served on the Grand Lodge of Theta Xi Fraternity.  Ron served for over 10 years as the Allegheny Regional Director where he received five Regional Director of the Year Awards.  Brother Shidemantle is currently the Dean of Students at Bluefield State University in Bluefield, West Virginia, where he provides oversight and management of the Student Affairs program on the campus. During President Shidemantle’s tenure, the Elmer Kaelin Scholarship was established, annual 6294 events have prospered, foundation property has been renovated, the investments and endowment funds from alumni donations have increased, and alumni participation in the foundation continue to grow.  


Michael Liptak, KA183

Vice President,
Investment Committee Chairman


John Schmidt_edited_edited.jpg

John Schmidt, BO181

Finance Committee Chairman


Jim Fantone, BO200


Executive Board Members

  • Kevin Bussey, Beta Omicron 317

  • Vito Cedro III, Pi 795

  • Chad Gigliotti, Beta Sigma 400 – Housing Committee Chairman

  • Frank Hynds, Beta Kappa 14

  • Walter MacFann, Beta Sigma 332

  • Rich Mihalic, Beta Omicron 133

General Board Members

  • Darren Burns, Beta Sigma 579

  • Vito Cedro IV, Beta Omicron 446

  • Nathan Chase, Kappa Tau 696

  • LaMont Coleman, Beta Sigma 318

  • Donald Green, Kappa Tau 192

  • Scott Green, Kappa Tau 715

  • Mike Guido, Pi 862

  • Jim Haberthur, Beta Sigma 495

  • Ron Keyes, Beta Omicron 302

  • Dan Leech, Beta Omicron 487

  • Walter MacFann, Beta Sigma 332

  • Gary Manion, Beta Omicron 253

  • Justin McAtee, Kappa Tau 820

  • Larry Sebek, Beta Sigma 315

  • Jim Smith, Beta Sigma 394

  • Justin Van Slyke, Kappa Gamma 447

  • Brad Walker, Beta Upsilon 2

  • Bernie Weaver, Lambda 716

  • Jesse Whitlow, Pi 771

  • Nick Paul, Beta Phi 406 – Student Representative

Members Emeritis


Otto Richter

Brother Richter was a Founding Father of Pi Chapter, and is responsible for making the original bequest of funds that established the Educational Foundation. A self-made millionaire, Brother Richter was a life-long loyal Theta Xi who gave countless hours and service to the betterment of his beloved Theta Xi Fraternity. 


Elmer B. Kaelin

Brother Kaelin served with outstanding and infamous distinction for much of the history of the Foundation in top leadership roles, and was instrumental in establishing numerous Chapters throughout the Allegheny District of Theta Xi. Brother Kaelin was granted membership in the Order of the Unicorn, Theta Xi’s highest honor, in 1995. Elmer was without question, one of the most loyal and dedicated of Brothers the Allegheny District has ever produced. 

L. Philo Maier

Brother Maier served for many years as an active alumni leader in the Allegheny Region, and was instrumental in the establishment of our Educational Foundation. Brother Maier was selected as the first ever Director Emeritus for his service and positive impact on behalf of countless generations of undergraduate and alumni members in the District.

Adrian Medert

Brother Medert served as Foundation President for many years, particularly in the early development of the Educational Foundation. An outstanding legal mind, Brother Medert was instrumental in many projects and programs that provided for outstanding living and learning Theta Xi residential communities throughout the 1960’s & 1970’s.

We Need Your Support Today!

bottom of page